Thoughts:

<Simon Qi>

I have a strong passion for the engineering of Remotely Operated Vehicle (ROV) with my friends. This is my second year participating in the designing and the engineering of our ROV. I decided to contribute more than just the engineering and construction of our ROV’s neutral buoyant tether this year, so I took on the role as the team Internet Marketing Manager. I really enjoyed learning the skill of website making, I planned to use our website to capture our memories and also as a future resource to gain sponsorships for our International Competition expenditure. I am a little concerned about our team’s future next year, as the majority of the team are grade 12 and therefore they will move on to compete in the Explorer category. I am very eager to take on the leadership role along with more responsibilities and exploring new fields to enhance my skill.

 <Matt Glencross>

Three years ago, I joined Nova Underwater Technologies not knowing where it would lead to. The first two years provided endless learning opportunities outside the traditional classroom, but this past year, in particular, helped me identify my post-secondary goals. This year I focused on designing and constructing many of the mechanical components including the multi-purpose claws. Through this process, I learned how to use 3D printing to bring my ideas to life, use CAD software for designing prototypes, develop mechanical gear boxes, effectively communicate ideas, and work efficiently with fellow teammates, all of which will be valuable in the future. The MATE Underwater ROV competition has provided me with once in a lifetime experience that will never be forgotten, including the opportunity to visit NASA’s Neutral Buoyancy Lab. I am looking forward to pursuing a career in mechanical engineering and will continue to be a part of any available robotics team.

<Logan Crooks>

This is my third year as a participant in the Mate R.O.V competition and my final year in the ranger class. Last year we made it to the international competition which made me want to work doubly hard to make it to the international competition this year. After three years working to on designing and building the robot I feel as though I have learned many valuable skills, such as teamwork, budgeting time, and working with electronics. This competition has deadlines which have helped me learn to budget time in order to make sure all of my responsibilities were finished in the correct order and at the proper time. I work with the electrical and network systems on the robot and thus learned a lot about how many different electrical systems work. All in all, I am glad I joined the team and will have great memories for years to come.

<Saul Hughes>

Over the course of the last year, I have developed my skills in more ways than I could have expected. I have taken a much more active role in project management. To do this I learned how to use the Visual Studio Developer Network Agile Scrum and Kanban system. As well, I feel as though I have learned how to deal with people better and organize a large project over the course of months.

<Daphne Finlay>

During my time with Halifax underwater technology, I learned many things, including how to properly apply liquid electrical tape and epoxy. These things must be applied while wearing rubber gloves and respiratory masks. This is done to prevent toxins from spreading on the skin and in your lungs. I also learned how gears work and how if one is jammed they all stop working resulting in the servo needing to be reopened and re-waterproofed. But perhaps the most important thing I learned was that it takes extremely good communication as well as very good patience to productively work well as a team.

<Francisca Annan>

In my second year working on the Nova Underwater Technologies team, I was able to use the skills I gained in my first year to better contribute to the creation of the current vehicle. I was very familiar with most of the tools and materials used to complete the project, and I learned more about the specific jobs of each of my teammates. In the future, I would like the opportunity to help out with a wider variety of tasks, so that I can have more experience in different aspects of the process.

<Yuhai Li>

The programming code was easier for me to understand than my brother because I already did some programming before then. There were many skills I learned. I now can understand C# and can solder things together, along with doing some wire work. The laser code was implemented in the two or three-week lull waiting for the PID controller. The cameras were going to start working soon. I feel somewhat accomplished because I was able to do many of the programming challenges that I was working on.

<Yuyang Li >

From my experiences with Robot club and being part of the programming squad, I have learned a great amount from what hard-iron and soft-iron adjustments to a magnetometer to coding in how to activate lasers from the press of a button. By working with the programming team, I have learned a great deal on how to code in the programming language C# which is the language used for the robot. There were difficulties in the gyro and magnetometer chip which are still problems but many problems such as allowing for temperature and depth information to be transferred more easily have been cleared. Next year, I will be rejoining Nova Underwater Robotics and increasing the effectiveness of the robot through programming.

<Ellis Keener-LaCroix>

During my first year, I learned a lot at Nova Underwater Technologies. I mostly worked with the 3D printers and 3D modeling. When I started, I didn’t know how to 3D model and didn’t know much about 3D printers. Since then, I now know 3D printers inside and out, and I know how to use the 3D modeling software TinkerCAD. Besides 3D modeling and printing, I have learned how different parts of the robot work, like: servos, claws, cameras, the controller, how it connects to the computer on the surface, and more. Next year I hope to learn how to hook up the cameras, and some programming.

<Warren Fisher>
When I first heard about the robotics team I knew I had to at least try it out. At the time I didn’t have much experience with the technology we would be using but I gave it a go anyways. During the process of designing I learned how many iterations it takes to reach your final product, almost all parts of our robot frame have gone through over 5 different designs and prints. At the start of our design process for our robot we did not take to much thought as to what CAD program to use and this was a mistake. I learned that our CAD program of choice simplicity was a problem because it made it difficult to design the more complex shapes we needed later on in our robots frame design.

Leave a Reply

